Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Year of Publication: 
Series/Report no.: 
Working Paper No. 86
International Policy Centre for Inclusive Growth (IPC-IG), Brasilia
[Introduction ...] We analyse IMF policy recommendations proposed to 26 developing countries in 2010 through its Article IV reports. The countries were chosen with the aim of having a diversified sample both geographically and in terms of per capita GDP. The selection of the countries was also based on the availability of Article IV reports, as these are released throughout the year and some countries prefer not to have their reports published. The 26 countries are: Albania, Benin, Botswana, Cameroon, Cape Verde, China, Colombia, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Guinea-Bissau, India, Indonesia, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Malaysia, Moldova, Nepal, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Senegal, South Africa, Thailand, Turkey, and Vietnam. Five of them are classified as low-income countries, 13 are lower-middle-income, and eight are upper-middle-income. To have a broad view of IMF recommendations, four main areas were chosen: exchange rate assessments, inflation, fiscal consolidation, and employment and other social policies. Each of the next four sections focuses on one of these areas. The last section concludes.
Document Type: 
Working Paper

Files in This Item:
355.51 kB

Items in EconStor are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.