Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: 
Year of Publication: 
Series/Report no.: 
WZB Discussion Paper No. FS II 02-408
Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin für Sozialforschung (WZB), Berlin
The Committee for Development Policy is required by Economic and Social Council resolution 1991/46 to conduct triennially a review to determine the countries to be added or graduated from the list of least developed countries (LDCs). Since the previous review was conducted in 2000, the Committee conducted another review in 2003. The Committee bases its identification of the LDCs on the consideration of three dimensions of a country's state of development - its income level, its stock of human assets and its economic vulnerability. The Committee thus uses (a) Gross National Income (GNI) per capita as an indicator of income; (b) the Human Assets Index (HAI) as an indicator of the stock of human assets; and (c) the Economic Vulnerability Index (EVI) as an indicator of economic vulnerability. In addition, because the underlying concept of the LDC category excludes large economies, in 1991 the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) endorsed the principle that no country with a population exceeding 75 million should be considered for addition to the list.
Document Type: 
Working Paper

Files in This Item:
237.12 kB

Items in EconStor are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.