Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item:
Mayer, Otto G.
Year of Publication: 
[Journal:] Intereconomics [ISSN:] 0020-5346 [Publisher:] Verlag Weltarchiv [Place:] Hamburg [Volume:] 19 [Year:] 1984 [Issue:] 4 [Pages:] 167-172
Forty years after the signing of the final act of the Bretton Woods Conference on 22nd July 1944, which embodied the agreement on the World Bank and the International Monetary Fund, the World Bank now comprises three organisations: the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD), the International Development Association (IDA) and the International Finance Corporation (IFC). In simplified terms, these three institutions jointly aim to help raise the standard of living in developing countries by mobilising finance in developed countries, channelling it to less developed countries and using it there as efficiently as possible in accordance with the stated objective. Given the difficulties involved, the virtually undisputed role played by the World Bank group in international development policy comes as a surprise.
Bretton Woods Institutions
Persistent Identifier of the first edition: 
Document Type: 
Document Version: 
Digitized Version

Files in This Item:

Items in EconStor are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.