Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item: http://hdl.handle.net/10419/66851
Authors: 
El-Shagi, Makram
Giesen, Sebastian
Jung, Alexander
Year of Publication: 
2012
Series/Report no.: 
IWH Discussion Papers 5/2012
Abstract: 
In the tradition of Romer and Romer (2000), this paper compares staff forecasts of the Federal Reserve (Fed) and the European Central Bank (ECB) for inflation and output with corresponding private forecasts. Standard tests show that the Fed and less so the ECB have a considerable information advantage about inflation and output. Using novel tests for conditional predictive ability and forecast stability for the US, we identify the driving forces of the narrowing of the information advantage of Greenbook forecasts coinciding with the Great Moderation.
Abstract (Translated): 
In der Tradition von Romer und Romer (2000) vergleicht das vorliegende Papier die Prognosen der Mitarbeiterstäbe von Federal Reserve (Fed) und Europäischer Zentralbank (EZB) für Inflation und Produktion mit den korrespondierenden Prognosen privater Akteure. Etablierte Tests zeigen, dass die Prognosen der Fed und (in geringerem Umfang auch) der EZB Informationen beinhalten, die für private Prognosen wertvoll wären. Durch neuere Tests für bedingte Prognosegüte und Prognosestabilität für die USA werden in diesem Papier die Gründe für die Abnahme dieses Informationsvorsprunges im Verlauf der so genannten Great Moderation identifiziert.
Subjects: 
relative forecast performance
forecast stability
staff forecasts
private forecasts
real-time data
Relative Prognosegüte
Prognosestabilität
private Prognose
Zentralbankstabprognosen
Echtzeitdaten
JEL: 
C53
E37
E52
E58
Persistent Identifier of the first edition: 
Additional Information: 
Corrected version uploaded 2016-07-14.
Document Type: 
Working Paper

Files in This Item:
File
Size





Items in EconStor are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.