

A Service of

ZBW

Leibniz-Informationszentrum Wirtschaft Leibniz Information Centre for Economics

Polish Statistical Association and Statistics Poland (Ed.)

Article Laureates of the Jerzy Sp±awa-Neyman Medal

Statistics in Transition new series (SiTns)

Provided in Cooperation with: Polish Statistical Association

Suggested Citation: Polish Statistical Association and Statistics Poland (Ed.) (2022) : Laureates of the Jerzy Sp±awa-Neyman Medal, Statistics in Transition new series (SiTns), ISSN 2450-0291, Sciendo, Warsaw, Vol. 23, Iss. 2, pp. 209-210, https://doi.org/10.2478/stattrans-2022-0025

This Version is available at: https://hdl.handle.net/10419/266316

Standard-Nutzungsbedingungen:

Die Dokumente auf EconStor dürfen zu eigenen wissenschaftlichen Zwecken und zum Privatgebrauch gespeichert und kopiert werden.

Sie dürfen die Dokumente nicht für öffentliche oder kommerzielle Zwecke vervielfältigen, öffentlich ausstellen, öffentlich zugänglich machen, vertreiben oder anderweitig nutzen.

Sofern die Verfasser die Dokumente unter Open-Content-Lizenzen (insbesondere CC-Lizenzen) zur Verfügung gestellt haben sollten, gelten abweichend von diesen Nutzungsbedingungen die in der dort genannten Lizenz gewährten Nutzungsrechte.



https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/

Terms of use:

Documents in EconStor may be saved and copied for your personal and scholarly purposes.

You are not to copy documents for public or commercial purposes, to exhibit the documents publicly, to make them publicly available on the internet, or to distribute or otherwise use the documents in public.

If the documents have been made available under an Open Content Licence (especially Creative Commons Licences), you may exercise further usage rights as specified in the indicated licence.







Laureates of the Jerzy Spława-Neyman Medal

The *3rd Congress of Polish Statistics*, organized by Statistics Poland and the Polish Statistical Association, took place from 26 to 28 April 2022 in Cracow. This year's edition of the Congress commemorated the 110th anniversary of the Polish Statistical Association.

The Congress of Polish Statistics was one of the most important scientific events and was attended by international academics, scientists, stakeholders of official statistics as well as by representatives of public administration and media.

Its goal was to strengthen the multi-directional cooperation between the Polish and international community of statisticians – representing scientific and decision-making centres involved in the advancement of theoretical and application areas of broadly understood statistical sciences and related disciplines, with the intention of also improving the functioning of national systems of public statistics.

During the Congress the Jerzy Spława-Neyman Medal, awarded by the Chapter of the Polish Statistical Society, was presented to honour the following eminent Professors:

- 1. Danny Pfeffermann (University of Southampton, UK),
- 2. Partha Lahiri (University of Maryland, USA),
- 3. Włodzimierz Okrasa (Cardinal Stefan Wyszynski University (UKSW).

Pfeffermann Danny is a Professor of Statistics at the University of Southampton, UK, and Professor Emeritus at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel. As of 2013, he has been the Government Statistician and Director General of the Central Bureau of Statistics in Israel. He is a past President of the Israel Statistical Society and a past President of the International Association of Survey Statisticians (IASS). For the last 20 years, he has also served as a consultant for the US Bureau of Labor Statistics. Danny Pfeffermann is a Fellow of the American Statistical Association and an elected member of the International Statistical Institute (ISI). He has received a BA degree in Mathematics and Statistics and MA and PhD degrees in Statistics from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He is a recipient of numerous prestigious awards, including Waksberg award in 2011, the West Medal by the Royal Statistical Society in 2017, the Julius Shiskin Memorial Award for Economic Statistics in 2018, and the SAE 2018 Award for his distinguished contribution to the SAE methodology and the advancement of Official Statistics in the Central Bureau of Statistics in Israel. Lahiri Partha is a Professor of Survey Methodology and Mathematics at the University of Maryland College Park and an adjunct research professor at the Institute of Social Research, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. His areas of research interest include data linkages, Bayesian statistics, survey sampling and small-area estimation. Dr. Lahiri has served on the editorial board of a number of international journals and on many advisory committees, including the U.S. Census Advisory committee and U.S. National Academy panel. He has also served as an advisor or consultant for various international organizations such as the United Nations and the World Bank. He is a Fellow of the American Statistical Association and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics and an elected member of the International Statistical Institute. Dr. Lahiri is the recipient of the 2020 SAE award for his outstanding contribution to the research, application, and education of small area estimation.

Okrasa Włodzimierz is a Professor and Head of the Research Methods and Evaluation Department at the Institute of Sociological Sciences in Cardinal Stefan Wyszynski University in Warsaw, and also serves as an Advisor to the President of Statistics Poland, and as an Editor-in-Chief of the Statistics in Transition new series. He was teaching and researching in Polish and American universities and was an ASA Senior Research Fellow at the US Bureau of Labor Statistics (1990-1991), a Program Director for statistics and economics in the Social Science Research Council, New York (1991–1993). He then worked for the World Bank in Washington, D. C. (1994–2000), and was a Head of the Unit at the European Science Foundation (2000-2003, Strasbourg). Elected Member of the International Statistical Institute (ISI) actively participating in international scientific events; he is a Vice-President of the Polish Statistical Association; member of the State Scientific Council for Statistics, and of the Statistics Poland's Methodological Committee. He is the author or co-author of over one hundred scientific publications. He is a laureate of research grants - international (e.g. US National Science Foundation; The British Academy, Ford Foundation, World Bank, UNDP, IRIS) and national, as well as numerous scientific awards (e.g. Medal of National Education Committee and Gold Medal for long-term service).